Board & Governance

The board of Redde plc comprises a non-executive chairman (who was regarded as independent at the time of her appointment), two executive directors and two independent non-executive directors.

The Board has established Nomination, Remuneration and Audit Committees, with formally delegated duties and responsibilities, and written terms of reference. From time to time, separate committees may be set up by the Board to consider specific issues when the need arises. The Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer are also members, together with other senior executives, on the operating board of the accident management businesses and the boards of the group’s two legal businesses.

Avril Palmer-Baunack
Chairman – Non-Executive

Avril was appointed Chairman of Redde plc in September 2011. Avril is also executive chairman of BCA Marketplace plc and was previously Chief Executive Officer of Autologic Holdings plc and Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Executive Chairman of Stobart Group. Prior to joining Autologic Avril was Chief Executive Officer of Universal Salvage plc and has held a broad range of executive roles throughout the automotive industry, with experience in companies engaged in vehicle salvage, car hire, auctions, transportation, distribution, logistics, vehicle processing and infrastructure. Avril was previously non-executive chairman at Molins PLC and Quartix Holdings plc.

Martin Ward
Chief Executive Officer

Martin joined Redde plc in August 2005 as Managing Director of its subsidiary business, Albany Assistance Limited. In February 2009 Martin became Managing Director of the Group’s combined Accident Management Business and in April of the same year was appointed Group Managing Director. In October 2011 he became Chief Executive Officer.

Martin has extensive insurance industry experience, having jointly founded the Rarrigini & Rosso Group in 1994, a leading independent wholesale motor fleet, property and risk management insurance business, where he was commercial and operations director. This business built a membership network of over 500 leading commercial insurance brokers throughout the UK and marketed schemes on behalf of insurance companies. The business was acquired by THB plc in 2003. Martin has an MBA from Durham University.

Stephen Oakley
Chief Financial Officer

Stephen joined the Group as Chief Financial Officer in October 2011. Stephen is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants having qualified in 1974 with Price Waterhouse, London and is also a member of the Chartered Institute of Taxation.

Stephen has significant experience having in the past been Group Finance Director of fully listed groups such as Macarthy plc and The Hartstone Group plc. He was also previously Group Chief Executive of AIM listed Loftus Road plc and Interim Chief Financial Officer of AIM listed Sira Business Services plc.

Mark McCafferty
Non-Executive Director

Mark joined the Board as non-executive director and chairman of the Remuneration Committee, in March 2009. He brings extensive sector management and commercial experience, having spent six years as CEO of Avis Europe plc. Prior to Avis, Mark was Managing Director of Thomas Cook’s global travel businesses, and previous to that spent seven years with Midland Bank International in corporate finance and international operations. He is currently CEO of Premiership Rugby and has previously held non-executive directorships with HMV Group plc, UMBRO plc and Horserace Totalisator (Tote).

John Davies
Non-Executive Director

John joined the Board as non-executive director in December 2011 and brings a wealth of relevant experience to the Board having been, until he retired in 2006, Managing Director of Lloyds TSB’s Asset Finance Division which, amongst other businesses, included the bank’s motor-related operations. Prior to that John was Group Head of Consumer Finance for Standard Chartered Bank and Managing Director of their UK finance house subsidiary Chartered Trust. He has also held the positions of Managing Director of United Dominions Trust, a subsidiary of Lloyds TSB and a Director of the Finance and Leasing Association. In his career John has also been involved in a number of joint ventures with motor manufacturers and motor importers.

John was previously non-executive Chairman of Autologic Holdings plc, and is currently a non-executive director of Molins PLC, a director of Local Car and Van Rental Limited, and is a board member and former Chairman of the Vehicle Remarketing Association.